THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Mental Health Expert Reference Group

25 June 2015

Purpose:

The Australian Government has established a Mental Health Expert Reference Group (ERG) to provide advice to the Department of Health to inform the development and implementation of the Government's response to the Review of Mental Health Programmes and Services.

The Group is a time-limited body and will operate from inception up to October 2015, with the possibility of extension if required.

The Group will advise the Department on proposed policy, programme and service changes in response to the Review, with specific attention to:

- The evidence base underpinning changes to mental health programmes and services;
- Potential options for and implications of programme redesign;
- Workforce and regional infrastructure issues;
- Process issues in relation to consulting on and developing a response to the Review.

The Expert Reference Group will provide advice to inform policy and implementation decisions for the Commonwealth, however, it is not a decision making body.

The scope of the Expert Reference Group will be weighted towards policy and programme changes which are within the role of the Commonwealth to directly implement through its current national programmes. It will also consider the broader system leadership role that the Commonwealth plays within the National Mental Health Strategy.

The advice of the Expert Reference Group will be complemented by advice obtained from stakeholders through a broader consultation, and existing ongoing mental health advisory groups over the coming months.

Expert Reference Group Members are appointed as individual experts. Members will be required to sign confidentiality agreements and declare any real or potential conflicts of interest at the commencement of each meeting.

Advice obtained from the Expert Reference Group will also help to inform the Commonwealth's input to discussion with states and territories under the COAG Health Council on the development of a new National Mental Health Plan as well as inform deliberations of the Primary Health Care Advisory Group and the Medicare Benefits Schedule Review taskforce.

Expert Reference Group Members:

Name	Role on Committee
Ms Kate Carnell	Chair of the Taskforce
Prof Jane Pirkis	Suicide prevention and mental health research
Prof Harvey Whiteford	Mental health planning and reform
Prof Nickolai Titov	Teleweb service delivery
Prof Thomas Callaly	Regional service integration
Prof Jane Gunn	Primary mental health
Ms Julie Anderson	Consumer representative
Dr Peggy Brown	State/Territory representative (Psychiatrist by training)
Prof Julio Licinio	Strategic Professor of Psychiatry
Dr Andrew Wilson	Private Psychiatrist
Prof Brett McDermott	Youth mental health
Dr Shane Langsford	Psychologist
Mr Mark Booth	Ex-officio, Department of Health